VII, returning to college, and a great dinner party….

My name is William Oakland and I am a student at UNO. This is the first blog I have ever written, so a lot of this is new to me. I chose to name my blog “VII Says”, because I am a seventh-generation William Oakland. There aren’t many people out there who are sevenths, so it seemed like the perfect title. I chose “From the Corner of My Eye” as a tagline because it refers to one of my favorite books, “From the Corner of His Eye”, by Dean Koontz. This blog is part of an ongoing assignment for my English class. Hopefully, many of my classmates’ blogs are as rough as mine.

Professor Poche suggested that we write our first blog as an introduction of ourselves to the class. So I guess I should tell you a few more things about myself. I am 23 years old (almost 24 – gasp!)  and a returning student at the University. I actually haven’t taken a class since 2006. Needless to say, its been tough readjusting to the college environment, especially working a full-time job this time around. After my experiences, I’m already using the old “stay-in-school” cliche to college students I know who are considering their alternatives. At this point, it seems like a no-brainer to do what it takes to graduate.

Professor Poche also mentioned that we could use our in-class worksheet for ideas on what to write in our first blog. The question that caught my eye was: “If you could have dinner with three people, whether dead or alive, who would you choose?” My answer was Lucille Ball, Steve Carell, and Adriana Lima. I think Lucille Ball and Steve Carell would be hilarious to sit with, probably to the extent that it would be hard to eat. Adriana Lima would surely provide great conversation as well.

Hopefully the rest of this semester goes better than this first blog entry.

Leave a Reply

